Too many spinning plates

Sorry I have neglected this blog for over a year. I’ve come to realise I have too many ideas on the go at once, which whilst great for variety, does not allow much progression. I took a long hard look at what I was doing and I have suspended all work on project Hermes (CD32 expansion) indefinitely. It was not due to technical issues, it was due to support. The original intent of the project was to produce 100 assembled and tested PCBs and then via a third party, sell them, I had a tacit agreement on this. The realisation, in part driven by bad experience in the day job, was that a more complicated design than a ‘simple’ ATX or floppy adaptor, would take a significant amount of my time to support. Currently I spend 8-10 hours a month dealing with enquiries, order packing and support requests for the products I currently sell. Allowing for a design that is more 4-5x more complex with more variables, I can easily see that the support time will increase considerably, easily to 10x the current level. When (not if) it gets to that level of effort, it becomes more of a chore than a fun hobby. This is the time to stop.

I will continue to support the products I currently sell. There are two small, Amiga related, projects, in the final stages of development. Will release details when they are ready. Once released and manufactured, they will be the last Amiga specific projects I work on.

The other projects I work on are increasingly micro-controller based and two of them use CPLDs for video and logic functions. These projects are more generic retro projects. I also develop designs for Radio Control systems, more on this when I finish them. Like most of my current projects, all the design data will be publicly available.

I realise this announcement will disappoint some people. Over the past 10 years, I have, on average, finished 7 projects a year. The past year, I’ve done 2. I’m older now and life has other distractions so I’ve decided to do what is best for me and to actually achieve success on smaller, more manageable projects rather than failure on one large project.

Thank you,

Ian

4 thoughts on “Too many spinning plates

  1. Well I’m disappointed we won’t see Project Hermes any time soon, but your own enjoyment of the work comes before that 🙂
    Is there anyone in the Amiga community you’d trust with bringing the project to fruition? The combination of EE skills, software engineering, Amiga knowledge, and support would be hard to find in any one person, but spread across a small team it might work for long enough to get a batch out?

  2. Ian, you are an inspiration to me fella.
    Can your work on the project be offered to others to work on?
    I am not qualified but I’m aware of a few very talented individuals who may have the energy, time, and motive to see this project through.

    aside from just suggesting Apollo team would look at it, I have ideas of a couple of AA people I could suggest look into it.

    It’s a very worthy project but I completely respect your needs. When your done, your done.

  3. Such a shame. I’ve been watching this eagerly.
    All the best bud!

    A guy called J Leary (TerribleFire on youtube) has made an 8mb board recently that has IDE also and is available to purchase.
    It might be worth grabbing something for your own console from him?
    You have to populate the board yourself however.

    All the best!
    Ant

Leave a Reply

